In late 2012 Amendment 64 went into effect, allowing adults who are 21 and older to purchase, possess and consume up to 1 ounce or 28 grams of retail marijuana for recreational purposes. As long as you have a government issued identification card, proving you are 21, anyone including residents and tourists can purchase up to 28 grams of THC. This allows you to purchase many types of different edibles, concentrates, etc.
There are some laws to know when purchasing recreational marijuana from a retail store. Presently, the current state laws allow for retail marijuana shops to stay open and operate from the hours of 8 in the morning until 12 at midnight. However, some cities are allowed to amend the hours of operation of stores within their districts. For example, stores in Denver and Aurora are allowed to stay open only until 10 pm, but marijuana stores in Glendale or Edgewater stay open until midnight. It is important to know the different laws concerning marijuana retail operation times in your area.
Once you have purchased your marijuana products, you will want to smoke or consume your newly purchased products. This is a highly critical subject because there are many laws and restrictions concerning whats legal on this topic. The biggest law to understand is that the passing of Amendment 64 does not allow for the consumption of marijuana in open or public areas. If you are caught consuming marijuana publicly you may receive a citation similar to open container laws for alcohol.
Driving, Transporting and Exporting Marjiunana
Transporting or exporting marijuana in and around Colorado is forbidden. In theory, you are allowed to “possess’” marijuana in the passenger area of a vehicle as long as it is in a sealed container. However, it is better to avoid driving while in possession of marijuana just to be safe. If transported outside of the state of Colorado, you can be subject to arrest in other states as marijuana is still considered illegal on a federal level you may be charged with felony drug trafficking. Having marijuana in your vehicle is generally a bad idea, and if pulled over the responding officer may subject you to a DUI field test and may even arrest you. Driving while under the influence of marijuana is illegal and could result in a loss of drivers licences.
Federal and State Land
Lastly, when visiting federal and state parks it is illegal to consume or even possess marijuana of any kind. If caught you may be arrested and charged with possession of marijuana on federal land, which carries a sentence of up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000 on the first offense. A second offence carries a 15-day to two -year mandatory prison sentence. Any more offences and violators can receive a 90-day to three-year prison term, and a $5,000 fine.
If you find yourself with a ticket or behind bars for a marijuana or other related offence in the Denver, CO area, contact the bail bonds experts at Bail City Bail Bonds, call us today at__PHONE__!